Posted in Films from 30’s to 60’s, French film, Jean-Luc Goddard, New Wave Cinema

BANDE A PART (1964)

Two crooks with a fondness for old Hollywood B-movies convince a languages student to help them commit a robbery. The alienated young trio is marvelous, particularly Anna Karina, and the early scenes of their clearly overdeveloped fantasy lives are splendidly handled. he alienated young trio is marvelous, particularly Anna Karina, and the early scenes of their clearly overdeveloped fantasy lives are splendidly handled. With this film Godard returned to the (petty) crime genre and his fascination with American pop culture. When naive Odile tells them she lives in a house where a large amount of money is cached, their imagination runs wild. Fantasizing and discussing Hollywood B-movies and pulp literature, they decide to rob the house with the help of Odile. But this one generally is an entertaining and insightful film, with the dancing sequence in the bar justly memorable, as is the 9-minute tour of the Louvre. This one is my favorite of Jean-Luck Goddard. Still, essential for movie buffs. Godard even credited himself as Jean-Luc “Cinema” Godard. Quentin Tarantino paid tribute to this film naming his production company A Band Apart.

Author:

I first stated this site with 2 friends but I am the only one now taking care of it. I love movies sometimes that is all I talk about. I love TCM the best station ever. I am studying to be an Infographics/special effect for movies. I will put the best films on my website no exception. It is like I am evolving with it, I am constantly redoing stuff on it. So have fun with it and thank you for visiting.

Leave a Reply

