Posted in British film

THE DISAPPEARANCE OF ALICE CREED (2009)

An abduction takes a number of unexpected turns in this independent thriller from Britain. Vic (Eddie Marsan) and Danny (Martin Compston) are a pair of ex-cons who spend several days elaborately soundproofing and reinforcing the walls of a small apartment. Vic is hard-edged and domineering with a fierce suspicious streak, while Danny is weak-willed and will do nearly anything Vic asks of him. We soon learn what Vic and Danny were planning as they grab a young woman off the street, take her back home, and tie her to the bed. The young woman is named Alice Creed (Gemma Arterton), and she comes from a wealthy family; after taking some snapshots of her, Vic fires off a ransom demand to her father, asking for two million pounds in exchange for Alice’s safe return. There is a couple twist in this movie. In between comes a tight, efficient thriller with just three actors and at least two whopper switcheroos. The first word is spoken 5 minutes and 25 seconds into the film. Roughly another 4 minutes pass before the next one is spoken.

 

Author:

I first stated this site with 2 friends but I am the only one now taking care of it. I love movies sometimes that is all I talk about. I love TCM the best station ever. I am studying to be an Infographics/special effect for movies. I will put the best films on my website no exception. It is like I am evolving with it, I am constantly redoing stuff on it. So have fun with it and thank you for visiting.

Leave a Reply

