Posted in Films from 30’s to 60’s, French film, New Wave Cinema

AU DELA DES GRILLES (1949)

Coming just after “les maudits” ,perhaps René Clément’s best film -and of course totally overlooked-,”Le mura di Palapaga” aka “Au-delà des Grilles” displays the same respect for the audience as far the languages are concerned.Italians speak Italian between them,and Gabin speaks French with Isa Miranda.There the comparison ends. For “Au Delà-des Grilles” highly praised at the time, lauded far beyond its station,and awarded at the Festival de Cannes for best director and best actress Isa Miranda .The screenplay borrows lots of ideas from “Pépé le Moko” ,Duvivier’s masterpiece (1937) and the atmosphere tries to capture that of the Italian neo-realism .Gabin has played this kind of role of the good-guy-with-policemen-hot-on-his-heels many times before ;outside “Pepe” there ‘s also “La Bandera” “Quai des Brumes” “Le Recif de Corail” ,etc.Isa Miranda is the stand-out and does a wonderfull job in this film .Try to see “les Maudits”! it has won an oscar for best foreign film also got awards on venice et lion d’or for best picture also.

Author:

I first stated this site with 2 friends but I am the only one now taking care of it. I love movies sometimes that is all I talk about. I love TCM the best station ever. I am studying to be an Infographics/special effect for movies. I will put the best films on my website no exception. It is like I am evolving with it, I am constantly redoing stuff on it. So have fun with it and thank you for visiting.

Leave a Reply

