Posted in French film, New Wave Cinema

UN FLIC (1972)

Parisian police commissioner Coleman (Alain Delon) is not a happy man, but he does what he can to get through each day. He has recently started having an affair with Cathy (Catherine Deneuve), and that helps a little. Cathy is also Simon’s girlfriend and Simon (Richard Crenna) is Coleman’s friend. Unfortunately, Simon is also the head of a gang of criminals. When Coleman’s investigation of a drug-smuggling ring closes in, their rivalry comes to a head. This was Jean-Pierre Melville last film. While Alain Delon’s character, Commissaire Coleman, examines a crime scene, we see a brief shot of a wall on which are inscribed several names including the one of his character in one of his previous collaborations with Jean-Pierre Melville: Jef Costello, the “hero” of the Le Samouraï. The opening shot closely resembles Hokusai’s famous woodcut “The Wave”. By the way Richard Crenna is in the film.

Author:

I first stated this site with 2 friends but I am the only one now taking care of it. I love movies sometimes that is all I talk about. I love TCM the best station ever. I am studying to be an Infographics/special effect for movies. I will put the best films on my website no exception. It is like I am evolving with it, I am constantly redoing stuff on it. So have fun with it and thank you for visiting.

Leave a Reply

