ALPHAVILLE (1965)

Lemmy Caution, an American private-eye, arrives in Alphaville, a futuristic city on another planet. His very American character is at odds with the city’s ruler, an evil scientist named Von Braun, who has outlawed love and self-expression. The line by Alpha60 that begins “Time is the substance of which I am made” is paraphrased from the 1946 essay “A New Refutation of Time” by famous Argentinean writer and fantasist Jorge Luis Borges, which reads: “Our destiny is not frightful by being unreal; it is frightful because it is irreversible and iron-clad. Time is the substance I am made of. Time is a river which sweeps me along, but I am the river; it is a tiger which destroys me, but I am the tiger; it is a fire which consumes me, but I am the fire. The world, unfortunately, is real; I, unfortunately, am Borges.” Inspired the name of the German rock group Alphaville. Despite the fact that the film is a work of science fiction and supposed to be in a city of the future, all the sets were existing locations in Paris in 1965, and all the weapons are conventional firearms.

Leave a Reply

