Posted in Taiwanese film

ONG-BAK (2003)

A film by Prachya Pinkaew.
Cast: Tony Jaa, Petchtai Wongkamlao, Pumwaree Yodkamol.
Booting lives in a small and peaceful village. One day a sacred Buddha statuette called Ong Bak is stolen from the village by a immoral businessman who sells it for exorbitant profits. It soon becomes the task of a young man, Boonting (Phanom Yeeram), to track the thief down to Bangkok voluntarily and reclaim the religious treasure. Along the way, Boonting uses his astonishing athleticism and traditional Muay Thai skills to combat his adversaries.
No stunt doubles. No computer graphics.No computer graphics. No strings attached. and I am not kidding when I said that. one of the few Thai film to break through in the martial arts market I think. I have seen behind the scene on the other martial film and you will see stunt double actors on wires showing how the actor is flowed and I have seen computer generated graphics. But not in this movie check out the bonus feature on the DVD It is awesome. Yes, they do a lot with camera angles and editing tricks. With the right lens and angle and slow-motion, you can make it look like an actor is defying gravity, when in fact he is simply making a big jump from a trampoline. But some of the shots cannot easily be faked. The movie stars Tony Jaa, a young actor who is an accomplished stunt man and expert in Muay Thai boxing. You will see stunt like people Falling from a tall tree, a chase on foot thought the streets, running on top of people over cars and sliding under a pick up (with a 3″ lift kit of course), and going trough a loop of barb wire all in one movie and it took a year of training to do all that and the fighting scene add to that injuries. Fun! fun! fun!. Ong-Bak even uses that old Bruce Lee strategy of repeating shots of each stunt from two or three angles. Yes I did enjoy this film A must see.

Author:

I first stated this site with 2 friends but I am the only one now taking care of it. I love movies sometimes that is all I talk about. I love TCM the best station ever. I am studying to be an Infographics/special effect for movies. I will put the best films on my website no exception. It is like I am evolving with it, I am constantly redoing stuff on it. So have fun with it and thank you for visiting.

Leave a Reply

