Posted in Italian Film

SCENT OF A WOMAN (1974)

profumo donna

A film by Dino Risi

Cast: Vittorio Gassman, Alessandro Momo, Agostina Belli

Italian title: Profumo Di Donna

An army cadet accompanies an fractious, blind captain on a week-long trip from Turin to Naples. The captain, Fausto, who wants no pity, no special treatment what so ever and wants to control every situations. In Rome Fausto seeks a priest for his blessing. in Naples, where Fausto joins a blind lieutenant for drinking and revelry, the two soldiers talk quietly and seriously about “going through with it.” In Naples Sara is in love with Fausto will he ever notice her or even fall for her?

This is the original the remake with the same title with Al Pacino was good. But this one the original one is a far better one. It has a sense of Italian culture. Dino Risi was this great director in the 60’s 70’s. I remember this film back in the 1974 where I was just 13 back then and went to see this film and I thought what a great film that was. It won the Cesar at the Cannes film festival back then and got nominated for an Oscar.  I remember my mom told me to go see this one because it is a great master piece of Italian cinema. Fausto does not like himself much nor does he want to be loved. I think after the accident when he lost his sight he became bitter and hates the world. Sara later on in the film falls for him and he does not think he deserves or wants to be loved. Of course maybe also he does not want to fall in love because himself and his buddies are going though with it. Well you are going to have to see this movie in order to find more about it. It is well casted and written. I am going to see it again and get that one to put in my collection.

profumo_di_donna_vittorio_gassman_dino_risi_007_jpg_ssnn

extrait_profumo-di-donna_2

 

Author:

I first stated this site with 2 friends but I am the only one now taking care of it. I love movies sometimes that is all I talk about. I love TCM the best station ever. I am studying to be an Infographics/special effect for movies. I will put the best films on my website no exception. It is like I am evolving with it, I am constantly redoing stuff on it. So have fun with it and thank you for visiting.

Leave a Reply

