Posted in Australian Film

MISTER BABADOOK (2014)

Babadook

A film by Jennifer Kent

Cast: Essie Davis, Daniel Henshall, Tiffany Lyndall-Knight

I talk about the film We need to talk about kevin in an earlier post now Australian director Jennifer Kent has rewritten the story to me anyway a different story that is. After the car accident where her husband got killed while driving her to the hospital to deliver their kid Amelia (Essie Davis) is struggling to cope with her troubled son Samuel (Noah Wiseman). His behavior is getting a little violent toward his school mates so he is treated as different. Amelia gets him out of this school meanwhile every night the mother reads Samuel a story he stubble onto this book called Mr. babadook ho boy! Not good. Now the boy is scared out of his wit with the story that the mother throws the book away. Some how the kid gets obsessed with Babadook  an obsession that grows as the days goes by. the mother can’t take it anymore and gets into a depressive state/hysteria. You see the story is in between We need to talk about Kevin and Paranormal Activity  nothing wrong with that it works. So the kid can’t sleep because he believe that Babadook is under his bed or in the closet, when I was a kid I had no problem sleeping and I did not believe in monster under my bed.  and he gets to be an invasion of the supernatural who want to torture them. Kent uses the camera real well especially when the mother turn into an insomniac also with the tension with the kid and the mother when they come to a point they don’t like each other. Davis and Wiseman both deliver strong performances, and are perfect for this film. Of course it is a very creepy film and a good one at that.

Mister-Babadook-photo-Noah-Wiseman

00ecf6e98-1

 

Author:

I first stated this site with 2 friends but I am the only one now taking care of it. I love movies sometimes that is all I talk about. I love TCM the best station ever. I am studying to be an Infographics/special effect for movies. I will put the best films on my website no exception. It is like I am evolving with it, I am constantly redoing stuff on it. So have fun with it and thank you for visiting.

Leave a Reply

