Posted in French film

PLACE VENDÔME (1998)

 

place vendome

A film by Nicole Garcia

Cast: Catherine Deneuve, Jean-Pierre Bacri, Emmanuelle Seigner

A women who is a drunk is in an establishment for recovery. One of those night where she was allowed to go home with her husband who owned aj jewelry store at Place Vendôme in Paris shows her 5 beautiful diamonds that is kept hidden in their bedroom. When one day he kills himself with his car running into a limber truck.

Marianne Malivert, played by Catherine Deneuve, once knew something about the diamond trade herself. She meet her husband while making a deal. She is a recovering alcoholic and drinks left over wine from glasses. Her husband has accepted her alcoholism as a part of her life. She has lost all interest and hope her best friend is a bottle of wine. You see the business of her husband is going bankrupt and no one knew but him. Soon the others knew after his death. The film continue as a thriller. Its gradually reveals the details of the relationship. There is a bald man named Jean-Pierre (Jean-Pierre Bacri), for example, who is obsessed with Nathalie (Emmanuelle Seigner), a young woman who works in the store. And Marianne knew that her husband had her for a mistress. Jean-Pierre wants to help because you see that the diamonds are stolen from some bad people the mob. There is more to it but I do not want to reveal it you will have to see the film. Catherine Deneuve is a great star of France here is a little story I was walking in St. Germain des Prés when I crossed Catherine Deneuve walking her dog. Now that is cool. I saw some other actors here and there after all I am in Paris. She is the coolest of them all my favorite by far and what of great actress. The rest of the cast is awesome the chemistry is there. Place Vendôme I go there a lot it is a great place to be. It is one of my favorite place tobe beside St Germain Des Prés. It is a great story told the French way because if the is film was in Hollywood there would of been car chase and explosion left and right. It is better that way it is great story telling. Some of you might not like it some of you will.

place-vendome-1998-05-g

place-vendome-1998-09-g

 

Author:

I first stated this site with 2 friends but I am the only one now taking care of it. I love movies sometimes that is all I talk about. I love TCM the best station ever. I am studying to be an Infographics/special effect for movies. I will put the best films on my website no exception. It is like I am evolving with it, I am constantly redoing stuff on it. So have fun with it and thank you for visiting.

Leave a Reply

