Posted in Cult film, U.S. Film

TO DIE FOR (1995)

TO DIE FOR (1995)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A film by Gus Van Sant

Cast: Nicole Kidman, Matt Dillon, Joaquin Phoenix

 

Suzanne Stone (Nicole Kidman) is a woman who lives to be on TV. She lives in the small town of Little Hope, N. H., but in her head, she lives in the hyperspace of supermarket tabloids, and People magazine. Suzanne is small time but she wants to become a star the next Barbara Walters. She is the weather forecaster for a local cable channel you have to start from the ground up as she says. Larry (Matt Dillon) is in love with her but his sister does not see what she sees in her to her she is the ice princess. Suzanne marries him why  it is anybody guess, he’s a nice a guy from a family who owns the local Italian restaurant/bar. Suzanne is played by Kidman as a woman who is always onstage, she can not gain weight and she does not want to have children the thought of boobs to be big and out there plus a big belly well that is just gross and women like her can not get pregnant in order to succeed in this business. It becomes clear that her husband must go. That were it gets a little bit predictable. To help in disposing of her husband, she enlists three airheads from the local high school: Jimmy (Joaquin Phoenix), Russell (Casey Affleck) and Lydia (Alison Folland). That is a big mistake. You see suzanne is manipulative sleeps around with an executive that could help her career and her husband is weighting her down. Great performance from all the actor especially Nicole Kidman. Phoenix and casey  Affleck were fairly new actor back then just trying to get in the business look where are they now they have not stop working since then. Illeana Douglas is Janice, Suzanne’s ice-skating sister-in-law who read Suzanne as a phony ice princess. Matt Dillon plays this dude who is this cool dude who is going to get the babe blonde bombshell, Dan Hedaya plays the father-in-law who is the king in his Italian family. And Buck Henry plays a high school teacher who get harassed by the students. It is a neat little movie fill of eccentric characters and it works here. You will see how it starts the film I am not giving away that one. It is a bit predictable because I knew what was going to happen at the end. I saw to many film already. I went yesterday every Thursday near my apartment at this movie theater will put a cult film. This is the first time that I have heard about film. I am glad I went to see it is a cool little film by Gus Van Sant you can’t go wrong there.

TO DIE FOR 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

to-die-for -3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

I first stated this site with 2 friends but I am the only one now taking care of it. I love movies sometimes that is all I talk about. I love TCM the best station ever. I am studying to be an Infographics/special effect for movies. I will put the best films on my website no exception. It is like I am evolving with it, I am constantly redoing stuff on it. So have fun with it and thank you for visiting.

2 thoughts on “TO DIE FOR (1995)

  1. To Die For wasn’t as sharp and scathing as I’d expect from a satire. It was a little too whimsy and obvious for my taste. Nicole Kidman is stellar, though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

