Posted in Cult film, U.S. Film

THE NIGHT OF THE HUNTER (1956)

NotH_20

A  film by Charles Laughton, Robert Mitchum

Cast: Robert Mitchum, Shelley Winters, Lillian Gish

This is a cult film at his best. It was a failure when it came out back then and let me tell you that is a mistake years later it got what it deserved people saw it and it became a success. I saw it on TCM I have it in my collection and I just saw it on the big screen in Paris because UGC theater put cult film for one night only, since I have my unlimited UGC card no problem I got see it on the big screen it is better that way to get that experience. Robert Mitchum is in it and he plays a loner well like himself but not really. It is a frightening and beautiful film, Scary ain’t  it. It is a realistic as hell. In the process of robbing a bank of $10,000, the robbery because he is unable to provide for his family, Ben Harper (Peter Graves) kills two people. Before he is captured, he is able to convince his  son John and his  daughter Pearl not to tell anyone, including their mother Willa where he hid the money. Before he is executed Ben is in the state penitentiary with a cell mate, he goes by  name of Harry Powell (Robert Mitchum), a self-professed man of the cloth, who is really a con man and murderer, he who swindles lonely women, widowed woman as well and the police is unaware of those crime, he is in jail for car theft. Harry seeks the wife’s window and tries to find where the money is hidden of course by posing as a man of the cloth.

Like I said that is a cult classic. Do  to miss this one. It has the most unforgettable bad guy. the film cinematography is spectacular especially the shots in the winter. Mitchum is so right for the role he play it beautifully well? I do love Mitchum and sometimes I discover a film that I have not seen yet. He is by far this iconic great actor. He did so many film noir it is not even funny. He had a great career.He has done so many great films. The screenplay, based on a novel by Davis Grubb, It was adapted correctly thank god. Laughton stylized the film a bit and put some realism in it. Every one has forgotten this film. I didn’t know that Mitchum has made it until I saw it on TCM, and now on the big screen. The rest of the cast even the kids were perfect. It could have been better. Laughton a terrific actor has directed on film this one and I think since it was a failure he has not directed any more. That is a shame. People you must see this one. Great film noir.

night_of_the_hunter

the-night-of-the-hunter-w1280

Author:

I first stated this site with 2 friends but I am the only one now taking care of it. I love movies sometimes that is all I talk about. I love TCM the best station ever. I am studying to be an Infographics/special effect for movies. I will put the best films on my website no exception. It is like I am evolving with it, I am constantly redoing stuff on it. So have fun with it and thank you for visiting.

Leave a Reply

