Posted in U.S. Film

PARANORMAL ACTIVITY (2007)

Paranormal Activity (2007)

A film by Oren Peli

Cast: Katie Featherston, Micah Sloat, Mark Fredrichs

Here is an ingenious hour film that will scare you. There is not a conventional opening nor closing credits it starts tight off the bat with a couple. Katie is a graduate student of English. Micah is a day trader. They’ve been together three years, and have now moved into a house in San Diego. Micah greets Katie out front one day by filming her on his new video camera. There are some indication of some Paranormal activity in the house since they moved. Micah’s bright idea is to film in the house, leaving the camera running as a silent sentinel while they sleep. Oh! boy was it a good idea? is any one going to pee in their pants tonight.

Paranormal Activity (2007)

The point of the film is to scare you while you are looking at the camera who is on a tripod in the bedroom watching the couple sleeping. Some of them are very minor but as the days goes by it gets progressively worse. The other point there is no special effect here it is done the old fashion way. The performance of Katie is flawless here, it feels so natural it is amazing. Micah however is mostly off camera. Micah here behave like a man, he believes her well Katie wants help from some medium who can perform an exorcism but Micah does not believe that they need one. Here is a horror film with a little imagination and you got something that will scare you. The director was a computer programmer and a video game designer for 15 years and wanted to make a film but didn’t know some one in the business. So he decided to by a HD Sony camera that cost at least $3,000. He remodeled his house a but and shot in San Diego at his house. There were not really a script, he just gave the actors their motivation and an outline of the scene. It took a week to shoot it. Now He had to take care if distribution so he went to the major studio to sell it and he got turn down. One of a producer told him he knew Steven Spielberg and a bunch of people at Dreamworks. Dreamworks wanted to remake the movie with a bigger budget and better known actors rather than release the film as it was. Steven Spielberg had to stop watching the film halfway through on a home screener as he was genuinely spooked by the experience. He completed it in daylight hours the next day and loved it. It won the approval of Spielberg and the rest is history. During the first test screenings, people started leaving the theater. Originally the crew thought this was because the film wasn’t going over very well with its audience, only to discover that people left the auditorium because they couldn’t handle the intensity of the piece. Here is someone who by-pass all to get his film made. To show you don’t have to have to go to school to make a film. Just watch of lot of film and if you can deconstruct a scene than you can make a film. One day I was Tampa in my apartment I was sleeping when I heard foot step in my bedroom that what woke me up. I looked all over the apartment nothing. I went back to bed and again I heard foot steps again so I went all over the apartment and nothing. An other time where I was sleeping I felt someone caressing my back I turn around and nothing. I am telling you that is freaky and down right scary.

Paranormal Activity (2007)

Author:

I first stated this site with 2 friends but I am the only one now taking care of it. I love movies sometimes that is all I talk about. I love TCM the best station ever. I am studying to be an Infographics/special effect for movies. I will put the best films on my website no exception. It is like I am evolving with it, I am constantly redoing stuff on it. So have fun with it and thank you for visiting.

Leave a Reply

