Posted in British film

CONTROL (2007)

Control

A film by Anton Corbijn

Cast: Sam Riley, Samantha Morton, Craig Parkinson

Control, one of the most perceptive of rock music biopics, has been made of Ian Curtis.  It is based on a memoir by his wife Deborah (played by Samantha Morton), a teenager when they married. The title of Deborah’s book is, Touching From a Distance. The movie is quietly, superbly photographed and acted. The film is shot in black and white well Ian at times was depressed, confused and didn’t dream in color.

The film is about his marriage and some of his time with the band. He was not ready for marriage as she was she adjusted very well to it and was the rock of the family. She got pregnant soon after a little girl. Ian had an affair with Annik Honore (Alexandra Maria Lara), a Belgian woman that he meet on the road. Early in the film Ian and Deborah attend a Sex Pistol concert and tells her he has an idea what a band and music should be. He goes from there puts a band together and start singing, he looks like Jim Morrison who was a shy introvert singer. Ian Curtis suffered from epilepsy I don’t think he fully understood what was happening to him. Also he got depressed and confused where the band was headed with follow by moodiness. Here is a young man who was shy maybe didn’t want the band to go any further because he was scared to be too famous, he was suppose to go to America for two weeks nut it seems to be that he was not enthusiastic about it. This is not a rag to riches story here. Well we all know what happen with him I think we lost him too early age 23 that is too young. To me he was a manic depressive and the epilepsy didn’t help. I don’t even think (because of the suicide) he was Bi-Polar but then again. The film does not say it just leaves it at that a suicide.

control-

CONTROL-2007

Author:

I first stated this site with 2 friends but I am the only one now taking care of it. I love movies sometimes that is all I talk about. I love TCM the best station ever. I am studying to be an Infographics/special effect for movies. I will put the best films on my website no exception. It is like I am evolving with it, I am constantly redoing stuff on it. So have fun with it and thank you for visiting.

Leave a Reply

