FLORIDE (2015)

Floride

A film by Philippe Le Guay

Cast: Jean Rochefort, Sandrine Kiberlain, Laurent Lucas

Claude Lherminier (Jean Rochefort) used to own his own factory because one day he suffered some memory loss and some confusion started to set in so his daughter took over the company. Claude suffers Alzheimer. He has someone who is looking after him. He is charming, funny, but can be difficult. His daughter is doing his best to make him as comfortable as possible.

Here is a light-hearted story about a man who has Alzheimer, he is 81 years old. The story here is treated gently with humor. He remembers bits and pieces of his childhood that comes back to haunt him. We are passing from comedy to drama in no time here after all Alzheimer is not fun at all it is hell for someone who has it. Not remembering what day it is hell enough for every one.  Le Gauay here has well-balanced the comedy and the drama with some flashback we see and understand the traumas that haunted Claude.  Jean Rochefort which I love here has come out of retirement (he has been for 2 years now) to do this film. Is a matter of fact he leaves in Paris my mom sees him all the time he is very charming in really life, funny and wears clothes with bright colors. well my mom also has talk to him from time to time. Sandrine here is on top of her game is a matter of fact Sandrine and Jean are on the top of their game here, they are perfect for each other. a gentile comedy that will touch you heard. I hate to say this but in France after a film I go to bar so after this film it is best to get a glass of red wine preferably a Bordeaux.

Floride-

Floride

2 comments

  1. I would love to see this film. Another one I need to be on the lookout for. I had the pleasure of meeting and speaking with John Rochefort at the funeral of my husband’s aunt, actress Daniele Delorme. He is a friend of the family but it was my first time meeting him. He was charming and sweet and was incredibly surprised when I told him that his film “Calmos” was one of my favorites. He was shocked because he told me not many people (in the states) knew of the film. He is a genuinely very nice man.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My mom meet Jean Rochefort she sold him an apartment in Paris. He wears bright color clothes and tennis shows sometimes with a suit. Like you said he is charming and funny he actually talks to people. He is retired but when he saw the script for Floride he could not resist that one thank god. Yes I do love jean Rochefort. One of my favorite as for Calmos I have not seen it yet. It is on my list. Thank you for following my blog. Have a nice day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

