SAINT AMOUR (2016)

saint amour

A film by Benoît Delépine, Gustave Kervern

Cast: Gérard Depardieu, Benoît Poelvoorde, Vincent Lacoste, Céline Sallette

Keep in mind that saint amour is a wine, and no I have not tasted it yet. It is on my list. I know what you are going to say Dude your French and you have not tasted that wine yet? Spare me the details. Here is cool film by Benoît Delépine, Gustave Kervern an impulsive road-trip movie with an inclination for surrealism. The picture is brilliant with a depressive self worth protagonist who find comfort in alcohol.

saint amour-3

The film A man wanders around aimlessly at a farming convention, drinking free wine with his friend at a farming convention (Le salon de l’agriculture) that paint the picture of a lonely guy who sets the theme of what to come. Bruno (Benoit Poelvoorde) is like  avery men, enjoying a weekend away from the farm, in order to support his father Jean (Gérard Depardieu) who entered  in to a cattle competition. we gather that the relationship went straight to hell since jean’s wife passed away. Jean sees that his son is in a bad place he decide to pay a  cab driver, Mike (Vincent Lacoste) to take them on the official wine tour in France, as they try to rekindle their relationship by drinking as many bottle of wine as possible, well my kind of movie. Depardieu uses his body with humor as big as he is he still takes off his shirt (I know scary) But only him can pull it off. Of course he has a reputation of drinking a lot as well as eating he uses that throughout the film. Benoît Poelvoorde does  what he does best. Along the way there is some women that some of them will meet in different circumstances. Great ending as usual I would expect no less. And yes after the film I drank a Château Le Grand Moulin Collection Grand reserve 2009 Blaye Côte de Bordeaux Great wine by the way.

saint amour-2

3 comments

  1. Ohhhhhhh… I wish this film was available here in Philadelphia! Sounds great!!! I’m a fan of Benoit Poelvoorde–Bonaparte’s Uncle, Yves Robert was very close to him. I swear I’m living “film” vicariously through your blog. BTW. I replied in your “about” page with a link that I think you will enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

