Posted in British film, Canadian Film, Irish Film

BROOKLYN (2015)

Brooklyn_FilmPoster

A film by John Crowley

Cast: Saoirse Ronan, Emory Cohen, Domhnall Gleeson

In the 50s, a young Irishwoman leaves his mother and his dear sister and moved to New York. After a difficult start, she found a job in a department store and falls for a young Italian. On the occasion of a drama, she momentarily returned to Ireland  where she meets a new man. Torn between modern America and the roots of his homeland, and torn between two world, she soon finds himself confronted with a choice: what life she wants to lead?

brooklyn_2

There is a certain beauty in this old fashion film. It is so well told and filmed.Ellis Lacey ( Saoirse Ronan), a young Irish girl looking to escape the little opportunities her town has to offer in the 1950s. With the help of her older sister, who must stay behind to take care of their mother, Ellis is given a chance at a better life in America. The trip along on a ship which she survives she arrives in Brooklyn where there is a difference of culture. She gets some help from the family priest (Jim Broadbent) who sets her up in a boarding house run by the strict and lovable Mrs. Kehoe (Julie Walters) who doe not take shit from them, but has a soft spot for Ellis. Things are not going so well for Ellis, she is homesick and has a hard time to adjust to her new setting. But just when she least expects it, a night on the town ends with her meeting Tony (Emory Cohen), an Italian boy who slowly breaks Ellis out her shell. They get along just fine and soon falls in love. A sudden news has to bring back Ellis to Ireland where she is going to be torn between the two world and choose which one to be in.

It is a beautiful intimate and romantic film and so perfectly film that you must see it or at least put it on your list. the performance of Satires Ronan and even the film remind me of those film back in the 40’s, 50’s. The thing is is what I have done I came to the states for 35 years and came back to France, and I never forgot where I came from.

brooklyn

Author:

I first stated this site with 2 friends but I am the only one now taking care of it. I love movies sometimes that is all I talk about. I love TCM the best station ever. I am studying to be an Infographics/special effect for movies. I will put the best films on my website no exception. It is like I am evolving with it, I am constantly redoing stuff on it. So have fun with it and thank you for visiting.

One thought on “BROOKLYN (2015)

  1. I want to see this very much! Yes, me too: I never forgot where I came from. Or at least now. Maybe I did forget, but I came back. I never moved countries; only cities. Now I am back in my home town after 15 years gone. It is a strange feeling. Anyway, thank you for your review! Saoirse Ronan is one of my most favorite actresses! –Paul

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

