Posted in Belgium Film

THE ARDENNES (2016)

les-ardennes-225x300

A film by Robin  Pront 

Cast: Veerle Baetens, Jan Bijvoet, Eric Godon

This feature directorial debut by Belgian Robin Pront starts off with a crime scene. Dave (Jeroen Perceval) leaves his brother Kenny (Kevin Janssens) at the scene and drives off with Sylvie (Veerle Baetens), Kenny’s girlfriend. Four years later Kenny gets out of prison. Dave promise  to his mother (Viviane de Muynck) that he will keep his brother out of trouble.

To all fans of film Neo-Noir put this one on your list, do not miss it, seriously.  Having said that our premier week in France is  Wednesday so I rush this morning to the movie theater to see this film. It was in the morning there was only me and an other guy there. When the film was over we look at each other and said almost at the same time “dam! that was so good”. And yes it is , but I can not reveal nothing about it and that is going to be a tough one. Here it is first I can say that the film focuses on Kenny adjustment to the every day life trying to go straight and his bother to help him out. Soon tension will start to rise in this grippy Belgium film. It’s an unexpectedly exhilarating climax that will grab you by the balls and hit you in the gut. Pront film it as dark as it can go with the weather on his side rainy, cold, as grey as it can get.The film’s retro synth soundtrack adds to the nostalgia of times gone by for the story and tension meter will raise then and come down to its conclusion. The Ardennes is a forest in Belgium as far as the eye can see just in case you are wondering. The actors delivers their roles beautifully well here. You see Korean cinema has reinvented themselves with  creative story telling and great if no outstanding stunts but now Belgium, it looks like are doing the same thing they are going to be the one to watch.

les-ardennes-robin-pront-953476

les ardennes

 

Author:

I first stated this site with 2 friends but I am the only one now taking care of it. I love movies sometimes that is all I talk about. I love TCM the best station ever. I am studying to be an Infographics/special effect for movies. I will put the best films on my website no exception. It is like I am evolving with it, I am constantly redoing stuff on it. So have fun with it and thank you for visiting.

Leave a Reply

