Posted in U.S. Film

GREEN ROOM (2015)

green room

A film by Jeremy Saulnier

Cast: Anton Yelchin, Imogen Poots, Alia Shawkat

Here is a simple premise, failing punk rock band The Ain’t Rights, featuring Tiger (Callum Turner), guitarist Sam (Alia Shawkat), bassist Pat (Anton Yelchin), and drummer Reece (Joe Cole), get stiffed on a gig but are marked  to another one down in Portland. Once they get there they quickly come to realize that much of the rowdy, bald-headed clientele are neo-Nazi skinheads, ouch that is going  to hurt and yes it did. Once the band has finished they decided to clear out but Pat has left her cell phone to charge in this room. Whence of the band member decided to get it for her he is witness of something he should of seen.

Like Blue Ruin (2013), Saulnier’s script has the tension that is rising slowly to an almost unbearable and uncomfortable  level. When Patrick Stewart arrives as the skinheads’ leader, Darcy, who has an  authority tone in his voice only makes the situation more intense. It is not long after that  blood will be spill and people will die. The violence will start to build up follow by more tension. Saulnier is on familiar ground and he is mastering this genre of film. The film is also claustrophobic at time. Steward is on the top of his game here with a terrific and deadly performance. The film does not miss the deadly ground of Assault on Precinct 13 and Southern Comfort. And trust me when I say that you are going to need a whiskey after this film.

green room-2

1401x788-greenroom_patrick-stewart

Author:

I first stated this site with 2 friends but I am the only one now taking care of it. I love movies sometimes that is all I talk about. I love TCM the best station ever. I am studying to be an Infographics/special effect for movies. I will put the best films on my website no exception. It is like I am evolving with it, I am constantly redoing stuff on it. So have fun with it and thank you for visiting.

3 thoughts on “GREEN ROOM (2015)

  1. Great job, my friend! You did a wonderful review!!! I thought it was maybe a remake of Truffaut’s La Chambre verte, but I see it is totally different. I like this actor Anton Yelchin. He is really good in the movie Charlie Bartlett. –Paul

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you my friend, I did not know about Truffaut’s film la chambre verte I will look for that one. As for the actor Anton Yeltsin is awesome in it I do like him also however the film did not come to France. Who knows maybe on Netflix some day it will appear. Netflix in France is only steaming. Au revoir.

    Like

Leave a Reply

