Posted in British film

DOUGH (2015)

dough

A film by John Goldschmidt

Cast: Jonathan Pryce, Philip Davis, Ian Hart

Nat (Jonathan Pryce), whose kosher London bakery is struggling and facing a hostile takeover bid from a cutthroat developer who wants to tear it down. When Nat’s apprentice quits, he  hires Ayyash (Jerome Holder), a Muslim immigrant from Africa. I know right a Muslim and a jewish dude in the same room, run people run. Okay just kidding, Ayyash supplements the family income by selling marijuana on the side so he can get out of this hell hole of an apartment that he occupies with his mother. But one day by some stroke of luck well you know what I mean some pot goes in the family bread recipe and yes suddenly every one wants some.

Take an aging white Jewish baker, add a young black Muslim immigrant, and what do you have? The ingredient for a funny pot story where bridges are build across religions racial and generational divides that will make a feel good movie. There is no doubt where the story is going mutual respect will develop, friendship will form, bonding will hit them, lessons will be learned, and greed will fold.

Dough is a sweet, touching, light comedy that will surprise you and is nonthreatening done à la Ken Loach. What more do you want people? A little pot to go with this film perhaps? Sorry I am not a drug dealer but I can get you wine.

Dough-Movie

dough-2016-jerome-holder-jonathan-pryce1

Author:

I first stated this site with 2 friends but I am the only one now taking care of it. I love movies sometimes that is all I talk about. I love TCM the best station ever. I am studying to be an Infographics/special effect for movies. I will put the best films on my website no exception. It is like I am evolving with it, I am constantly redoing stuff on it. So have fun with it and thank you for visiting.

Leave a Reply

