Posted in French film, New Wave Cinema

TRANS-EUROP-EXPRESS (1966)

Trans-Europ-Express

A film by Alain Robbe-Grillet

Cast: Jean-Louis Trintignant, Marie-France Pisier, Christian Barbier

Here is a director that I did not know I finally saw a film from him and man I am not disappointed at all. Here it is at theme they was this new train coming out called the Trans-Europ-Express it was the deluxe train, inside there were glass doors and Alain Robbe-Grillet the director liked it because it reflected images well once he film inside. Also it is the first film film on a train, usually they film it in the studio. You do not know really what is going on in the story.

It is a film Neo-Noir that has 4 stages. First you have the writer played by Alain Robbe-Grillet,  the script girl, and the producer who thinks that this train is cool and need to do a movie about it. Stage 2: is Alias ( Jean-Louis Trintignant) who is this drug dealer trying to pass drug from Paris to Belgium. Stage 3 The police man who follows Alias and Stage 4 the prostitute that Alias sees. The thing is you do not know what is going on in the story and where is it going to take you. Alain  did not want to do a film like everybody, he wanted to do his own story. The film is a little parody of the old New Wave crime eroticism movies, and the process, in general, by which films are thought out, or not. Alias played by Jean-Louis Trintignant has this perversion fetish, he is a sado-masochistic and go see a prostitute. It is Alain fantasies he also lived it and he said in an interview it is different to film the fantasy that I lived. Living it was much better than filming it in the way when you film it you become the voyeur to me. Alain got along well with Trintignant which also loved Marie-France Pisier who played the prostitute. Pay attention  the way he filmed the sex scene it is beautifully well done here. There is one thing that is going to shock you is that Alias is a different gangster he tells the truth and yes the film is a little bit off beat here. But seriously here I think it is his master piece here but I have to see the rest of his films.

Trans-Europ-Express-3

Trans-Europ-Express-2

 

Author:

I first stated this site with 2 friends but I am the only one now taking care of it. I love movies sometimes that is all I talk about. I love TCM the best station ever. I am studying to be an Infographics/special effect for movies. I will put the best films on my website no exception. It is like I am evolving with it, I am constantly redoing stuff on it. So have fun with it and thank you for visiting.

One thought on “TRANS-EUROP-EXPRESS (1966)

Leave a Reply

