Posted in British film, Cult film, Great movie, Italian Film

BLOW UP (1966)

blow-up

A film by Michelangelo Antonioni

Cast: David Hemmings, Vanessa Redgrave, Sarah Miles

Americans flew to “swinging London” in the 1960s; today’s Londoners pile onto the charter jets to Orlando. Yes you are going to get used to this film with the loopy psychedelic colors and no I do not recommend that you take LSD watching this film although there is smoking marijuana although out this film well it is the 60’s and back then that was in fashion sort of speak.

blowup

The movie stars David Hemmings, who became a 1960s icon after this performance as Thomas, a hot young photographer with a Beatles haircut, a Rolls convertible with models wanting for him to get a chance to pose for him. Nice life right? He spends his days in tightly scheduled photo shoots the model Verushka plays herself like I said nice life. Thomas wanders into a park and sees, at a distance, a man and a woman. Are they struggling? Playing? Flirting? He snaps a lot of photos. The woman (Vanessa Redgrave) runs after him. She desperately wants the film back. He refuses her and takes off.

Why does she wants the pictures? Well Thomas decided to find out. He boos up the pictures and sees something but what is it? There are different interpretation here and you will see what I mean when you see the film. I have my own and I bet it is different from yours. Yes there is a menage à trois scene and today, the sex seems tame, and what makes the audience gasp is the hero’s contempt for women. I put this film on my category of great movie  Do not miss it.

blow-up-2

Author:

I first stated this site with 2 friends but I am the only one now taking care of it. I love movies sometimes that is all I talk about. I love TCM the best station ever. I am studying to be an Infographics/special effect for movies. I will put the best films on my website no exception. It is like I am evolving with it, I am constantly redoing stuff on it. So have fun with it and thank you for visiting.

2 thoughts on “BLOW UP (1966)

Leave a Reply

