Posted in Cult film, Great movie, U.S. Film

EASY RIDER (1969)

easyrider

A film by Dennis Hopper

Cast:  Peter Fonda, Dennis Hopper, Jack Nicholson

Yes the thing is here is this I have a UGC card to go to the movies unlimited for about $22 a month the thing is you can not get out of it you have to do the all year then you can get out of it. It is in France only we have that for about 16 years now. Yes every Thursday I keep forgetting it is cult thursday and yes this Thursday it is Easy Rider. This is the first time I am seeing it on the big screen and yes it is a cult film. Plus I have the carte of the Cinémathèque in Paris for about $12 a month I can visit the Cinémathèque their library museum, and see older film like the one from the 20’s 30’s 40’s 50’s 60’s on the big screen. They do have directors stopping by to discuss film there too.  How cool is that. And I can go to the library To get DVDs and I have Netflix Video streaming only. A paradise for a cinéphile like me.

So the story goes like that a couple of bikers smuggles cocaine into Mexico and yes is a no-no. But during most of the picture they have cash money hidden in their gas tanks, not dope. They sold their dope to the establishment headed by Phil Spector. As soon as they sell the dope they go to Louisiana to see Mardi Gras festival.

easy-rider_2

Okay Now Dennis hopper and Fonda started to write the script it was not even done so they started to shoot the film and make up the rest of the way as they went along , to top it all off they smoked real marijuana. The motorcycle were made they were chopper they had six of them which 2 of them burned and 4 got stolen towards the end of shooting. Dennis Hopper was going to be a teacher if he was not going to direct this film. Can you imagine Hooper being a teacher, it goes like this Hooper goes in the classroom and says to the students 1st lesson in life in my left hand I have a funny little cigarette in my right hand I have a lighter, you light it up like that you inhale than exhale any questions? Here is one for you Fonda was good friends with Nicholson who was trying to get in the business for a few years, he had enough and said to Fonda that he was going to be a producer or be a writer then Fonda announce too him I have a small part for you in the film that I am going to make. Jack took it several  studios saw the film and Jack’s career took off. Here is two guys who made this great film in the late 60’s about this two characters who decided to get out of the old grinder by selling drugs and making some money so they can do what they want. It is awesome to see that on the big screen.This is the thing, it is late 60’s you are making this film stone out of your mind with your friends and have a great time. Damm I love the 60’s.

easy-rider-411

Author:

I first stated this site with 2 friends but I am the only one now taking care of it. I love movies sometimes that is all I talk about. I love TCM the best station ever. I am studying to be an Infographics/special effect for movies. I will put the best films on my website no exception. It is like I am evolving with it, I am constantly redoing stuff on it. So have fun with it and thank you for visiting.

Leave a Reply

