Posted in Japanese Film, U.S. Film

GHOST IN THE SHELL (2017)

 

ghost in the shell 2

A film by Rupert Sanders

Cast: Scarlett Johansson, Pilou Asbæk, Takeshi Kitano, Juliette Binoche

Here is an adaptation of Shirow Masume’s original manga cult comics. In the near future Major is one of the kind after a crash they were able to save her brain but gave her a synthetic body. her purpose in life is to catch criminals.

Not too bad for a science fiction film here a robot with a human brain. Can they think like a human and if so will she able to do the job that they want her to do. There is a share parallel with Ridley Scott’s  Blade Runner however the visual is stunning and colourful the story is developed like a thriller like a film Neo-noir. The Asian-inspired City is filled, tall and tightly metallic buildings peppered with bright neon holographic signboards. It feels like the 80’s but in the future like A retro 80’s futuristic. As the story moves along Major (Scarlett Johansson) gets some kind of a glitch now and then. As she is after a hacker who tried to kill some officials the glitches gets worse. The skin-tight latex suit that Johansson wear and even the other outfit are outstanding. For me how ever it feels like I already saw that film some where. I was left there could be more like a twist in the story. Maybe it is just me.

ghost in the shell

ghost-in-the-shell-2017-trailer-ed

Author:

I first stated this site with 2 friends but I am the only one now taking care of it. I love movies sometimes that is all I talk about. I love TCM the best station ever. I am studying to be an Infographics/special effect for movies. I will put the best films on my website no exception. It is like I am evolving with it, I am constantly redoing stuff on it. So have fun with it and thank you for visiting.

Leave a Reply

