Posted in U.S. Film

GET OUT (2017)

get out

A film by Jordan Peele

Cast: Daniel Kaluuya, Allison Williams, Bradley Whitford

In Get Out, a smart and scary freakout about a black man in a white nightmare, the laughs come easily and then bang here comes the kill.

The film open with a black man talking on a cellphone on an empty suburban street briskly sets the tone, unsettles the mood, and you go I know what this is going to be about but you don’t. Those arms and smiles all but hug Chris (Daniel Kaluuya), a photographer with a sweet pad, adorable dog and equally frisky, adoring girlfriend, Rose ( Allison Williams). The story opens with them preparing for a long weekend with her parents Ho! boy. “Do they know I’m black?” Chris gently asks, like I said Ho! boy!!! Not to worry she said my parents are not racist. Okay then. Chris and Rose pulls up her parents house which is picture perfect and you know something is off when Chris meets her parents.

get out 2

A stroke of genius here the film comes across like a zombie/The Stepford Wives film but much better manipulated differently. Get Out’s premise follows the traditional framework of an outsider discovering the horrors of a secluded local, but adds its own unique spin. The film is disturbing and at times satirical with some tension. As Chris discover more about the folks that comes to the party it gets a very strange feeling to the point he wants to get out. The film here has a genuine chills and a surprising dose of biting humour. It is refreshing that someone has used the imagination to get this one right and turn it into an original idea.

get-out-catherine-keener

Author:

I first stated this site with 2 friends but I am the only one now taking care of it. I love movies sometimes that is all I talk about. I love TCM the best station ever. I am studying to be an Infographics/special effect for movies. I will put the best films on my website no exception. It is like I am evolving with it, I am constantly redoing stuff on it. So have fun with it and thank you for visiting.

Leave a Reply

