Posted in Korean film

TUNNEL (2017)

tunnel 2

A film de Seong-hun Kim

Cast: Doona Bae, Jung-woo Ha, Sang-hee Lee

Lee Jung-soo (Ha Jeong-woo) is a salesman for Kia Motors, finishing up his work  and  going home. He’s got a cake for his daughter, getting fuel for the car , and heading home. On his way, he calls his wife (Doona Bae) to let her know how things have been, when suddenly a tunnel he is passing through (newly opened ) decides to cave in and trap him inside his car with nowhere to go. Is he going to see the light at the end of the tunnel?

Yes an other Korean film here and a good one at that. Here is a dude who goes home and suddenly this new tunnel collapse and he is trapped under way under we come to find out later in the film. Character driving with emotions flowing around. The thing is here you see what the journey Lee is taking in order to survive the ordeal. There is a twist in the story if you want to call it that something I didn’t foresee but I knew how it was going to end because of one element they put in. Doona Bae which I love throws a great performance here as the wife of Lee. The film is design to keep you focus on Lee most of the time. You can feel what he feels, it is getting claustrophobic at time with the sound of the gravel that keep on falling to add up to the tension. Kim does not use too much or not at all music to get the tension going. Kim also shows you the dumb thing that the media is willing to do in order to get the story. Towards the end of the film you will question the morality here and ask yourself the question if this was happening now will it happen really like that. The question here what is the human life worth.

tunnel 3

tunnel 4

 

Author:

I first stated this site with 2 friends but I am the only one now taking care of it. I love movies sometimes that is all I talk about. I love TCM the best station ever. I am studying to be an Infographics/special effect for movies. I will put the best films on my website no exception. It is like I am evolving with it, I am constantly redoing stuff on it. So have fun with it and thank you for visiting.

Leave a Reply

