Posted in French film

RODIN (2017)

Rodin

cannes

A film by Jacques Doillon

Cast: Vincent Lindon, Izïa Higelin, Séverine Caneele

This film is presented in competition at the Cannes Film Festival 2017. In Paris, in 1880, at the age of 40, Auguste Rodin received his first commission from the State: the Gate of Hell composed of figurines, some of which will make his glory as Le Baiser And The Thinker. He shares his life with Rose, his constant companion, when he meets the young Camille Claudel, his most talented pupil who quickly becomes his assistant, then his mistress.

No, Rodin certainly does not reveal a simple biopic. Doillon,  explores the most inventive and paradoxically the least appreciated period of the sculptor’s career during his lifetime, is primarily concerned with sentimental drama. At 40, the artist tackles one of his most ambitious creations: the door of Hell.  He wishes with this work to give a tangible illustration of the Circles of Hell from “The Divine Comedy” by Dante Alighieri, is a roundabout way of expressing his repressed impulses and feelings. Panting like a boxer in the ring, sometimes brusque, sometimes passionate, Rodin is interpreted to perfection by Lindon, who is this exceptional actor who nails it dead on. It is a joy to see him pulling no punches and going full blast like a torpedo. He said in an interview he had to learn how to sculpt 5 hours  a day for 5 months. Rodin was a hard worker who has a long time girlfriend , and also a mistress who was his student. Camille was crazy about Rodin and was hoping that he left his girlfriend, however Rodin had a weakness for women. Lindon here won for best actor for the measure of a man last year maybe well I do not want to jinx it for him. I hope he does.

Rodin film

Izïa Higelin, Vincent Lindon

Author:

I first stated this site with 2 friends but I am the only one now taking care of it. I love movies sometimes that is all I talk about. I love TCM the best station ever. I am studying to be an Infographics/special effect for movies. I will put the best films on my website no exception. It is like I am evolving with it, I am constantly redoing stuff on it. So have fun with it and thank you for visiting.

3 thoughts on “RODIN (2017)

  1. I have to admit–ever since I saw the film “Camille Claudel” starring Isabelle Adjani as the tormented Camille and Gerard Depardieu as Rodin, I couldn’t stand Rodin. How could he be so cruel to Claudel????????????
    And when I saw the lead in for your post, my first thought was “eww that Rodin was such a creep”. Then I saw the pic and thought “Is that Vincent Lindon”? And things changed. Lindon is one of my favorite actors EVER!! We saw Measure of a Man and he should have won a friggin’ Oscar for that performance. It was incredible.
    I sure hope this film comes Stateside because if Lindon is in it, it is worth watching!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

